Kit Reviews with Larisa Chinces

LARISA
CHINCES
Kit ReviewsRed Chilli Bikes

Performance & Style with Larisa

Having been involved in competitive sports since childhood, and at a high level, Larisa knows what good kit should be and how it should perform. She’s been testing it to for Pedalnorth for over 6 years now, and this Masters graduate in Sports Education spends so much time in the mountains, that she knows when kit performs well. Why not let Larisa make some kit recommendations  for you.


This page is filled with useful kit reviews, articles, blogs and tips to help you in your own cycling lifestyle. Simply read, inwardly digest and allow Larisa to guide you towards the best cycling kit and equipment.

Cycling kit can be a minefield these days, and it’s even more difficult for women, trying to find kit that is both high performance and extremely stylish. As a performance athlete and someone who likes my kit to be stylish too, I work closely with leading global brands, testing out the very best products – it’s a great role to have, and I feel priviliged 🙂

I’m proud to be the review’s editor here at Pedalnorth, where all of our reviews are independent and unbiased. It’s simply  the kit that we use and love ourselves. Let me take you on your own cycling kit choice journey then. Take a look at the reviews and blogs below, and if you’ve got any questions, then simply email me here at Pedalnorth 😉

Larisa

My Elite Red Chilli Bike

The greens of summer turn to reds and browns and a million shades, that literally light up the autumn countryside, as everything gets ready for winter and long periods of darkness.

My Red Chilli WR1 is also a object of transition and fits perfectly with the context of autumnal change, with its chameleon colours.
October 19, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Red Chilli and Hot Pirelli Tyres

It’s autumn and soon it will be winter. We have some sunny days, during which we can still enjoy riding in shorts, but soon it will get really cold - chilli  😉

When the temperatures do drop lower and the wet and rainy weather will be most likely, it won’t be possible to cycle outside for a while. The snow will come and for safety and for the cold, we’ll have time retreat and to cycle indoors or ski 🙂 - not so bad I guess 😉 .
September 28, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Camelbak Lobo Pack

I’ve always loved mtb rides in the mountains of Transylvania, but I also like to explore other parts of my country too. For example, Baiu Mountains with altitudes of 1700-1900 m, located in Prahova county. Transbai is an off-road trail and it is 38 kilometers long and will connect the cities of Azuga and Busteni to Valea Doftanei. In these kind of adventures, it is important to have an adequate physical condition and proper nutrition.
September 21, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Red Chilli WR1 – Sitting Comfortably

Ok, now that I got your attention, we can continue with some technical aspects about my bike:

There are two really important parts to my RedChilli WR1 bike; firstly, the carbon pedals by Shimano, as they fasten to my feet and prove superb power transfer and stability when riding. Then, it’s obviously my saddle...
July 21, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Camelbak Hawg Pro Backpack & Womens Luxe

There are so many options for biking backpacks these days. However, Camelbak have revisited the classic Mule pack, and they've created something rather special. We took a close look at the new Camelbak Hawg Pro and Ladies Luxe pack over spring and early summer.
July 20, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Presca Sportswear Custom Cycling Kit

Presca was a brand that caught our attention due to their strict adherence to ethical principles at all levels of their organisation and production. All of the clothing is made from recycled fabrics, and they’re constantly working with others to drive forward their commitment to the environment.
July 13, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

SIGR Ladies Summer Cycling Kit 2022

SIGR are a relatively unknown brand outside of the Scandinavian countries. However, we first tested them last year and were extremely impressed, with both the design and the performance. When Sigr told us that they had some new designs for 2022, it was time for Larisa to take a look.
June 24, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Rosti Alpina Ladies Jersey and Pro 1 Shorts

The latest ladies summer kit from Rosti is super stylish and unique. Larisa has been testing it out in Transylvania and yes, she really likes it 🙂
June 21, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Rosti Superblack Woman summer knickers

This is my first ever pair of three quarter length cycling knickers and I really like them; they are perfect for spring and autumn and colder days in summer.
June 6, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Rosti Spring ladies long sleeved jersey

I really like the turquoise color of this jersey; it's a fav in either dark or light shade. This Rosti Spring jacket comes in turquoise color on the torso area, the sleeves are grey with reflective particles, and the back of the forearm is matte black with gradient sized dots. Multiple pieces of fabric are beautifully sewn to get a better fit - viola!
June 5, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Camelbak Podium Water Bottle Range 2022

It's hotting up outside and it's definitely time to start looking at water bottles. Larisa and Robert take a look at the latest bottles from world leaders in hydration, Camelbak 🙂
May 24, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Bike Box Alan Easy Fit

Modern bikes are expensive and difficult to protect when travelling. Thankfully, Bike Box Alan have developed their Easy Fit, which caters and looks after all manner of bikes with integrated handlebars and seat posts etc. Larisa likes it so much that she became an ambassador 😉
April 12, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

Yakima Front Loader Bike Carrier

Yakima make carriers all kinds of bikes, and their Front Loader is probably one of the most secure and well fitting bike carrier on the market. We tested it both in Romania and in the U.K.
April 10, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

RH+ ELITE EVO W Ladies Jersey and Pista Shorts

Spring is here and it’s the perfect opportunity to take time and prepare for hot summer, by choosing new stylish cycling clothing. What we all look for in summer clothing is to be comfortable and to sweat less while wearing them. Luckily, now we have advanced technical fabrics to make it happen.
March 16, 2022/by Pedalnorth Website

MET Helmet Road Vinci MIPS

MET make cycling helmets for some of the top road bike teams in the world. They know their stuff and the research shows this, with technological designs to add safety to comfort and speed. It’s time to take a look at one of their latest lids.
December 9, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ PRR Versilia Ladies LS Jersey and Bibs

We all know that some winter days can be mild, and that autumn simply isn’t as cold as winter. Add to this, the colder early spring days and you’ve got the reason why ALÉ developed the Versilia jersey and bib shorts. It’s the transition kit that you need between the seasons. Best off all, it’s super stylish. It’s feminine and modern and fits superbly too, which is very important 😉
November 21, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ PRR Green Race Ladies Bib Tights

Winter is a time when we want to be warm and comfortable, but we also want to look good. These eco-friendly bib tights from ALÉ allow me to ride well and show my style and athleticism too - after all, I'm a woman 🙂
November 18, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ Graphics PRR Green Road Winter Womens Long Sleeve Jersey

If you’re looking for feminine style and cold weather performance, together with excellent adherence to eco-friendly recycling fabrics, then ALÉ have the answer in this super stylish jersey. Read what Larisa makes of it here…
November 16, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Alé Ladies Colour block winter jersey

Alé from the Italian city of Verona understand simplicity; it’s in their dna and their new winter Colour Block thermal jersey is testament to their style
October 29, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

ELITE Direto XR Trainer – Getting ready for indoor riding

It’s now October and the weather has turned cold. The rain is here more often, and soon it will snow. There is already snow in the mountains, and so I am starting to sweat more indoors from now on. Training outdoors is no longer a nice experience. Thankfully I have my Elite trainers to look after my cycling training.
October 27, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Rh+ Klyma Sunglasses

Everyone seems to be making sunglasses for cyclists these days, and so it’s difficult to work out which brand to trust. Fundamentally though, a good starting point is always to look towards Italy - the home of Rh+. The Italians know sport, they know style and they always bring this knowledge to their cycling products - with lots of performance features too.
September 29, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Cycology Gear Accessories

Wrap up warm people, because it’s going to get colder!
There are thankfully a few reasonably priced ways to keep yourself warm, especially if you won’t be riding all winter and don’t want to spend money on full winter jerseys. To start with then, a good set of arm warmers are ideal, but which ones and will they match your jerseys and gilet?
September 5, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

DS Pro Road Warrior Pink Camo Kit

Super Lightweight and quick drying fabric properties ensure that the DS PRO Road Warrior in Pink Camo is the ideal ladies kit for summer. Also, the shorts are nicely cut short too, which means that my legs get an extra level of tanning 😉
September 1, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Bringing the outdoors indoors with Elite

Who could have imagined that a cycling trainer could simulate cycling so amazingly close to reality? Nowadays, technology has reached a very advanced level, and brands like Elite from Italy are leading the way. For example, look at the top of the range rollers that Elite have invented, fully interactive and is truly something amazing - I refer to "Nero interactive rollers".
August 26, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Elite Bio Green Bottles

It gives me great pleasure to ride a bike in the forest, to hear the birds chirping, to enjoy the landscapes and to see other creatures which live in the wilderness.
Thankfully, we have lots of wild and remote and very beautiful paces here in Transylvania and Romania. It’s very important to treat nature as if it were our home; to keep it clean, to take care of it and not to exploit it.
June 28, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ Bullet WR Bib Tights

These bib tights are designed to go well with the Ale´ winter and cold weather jersey range. Thankfully, they also go well with many other jerseys and jackets from across their ranges. They’re form fitting, which means that you look great in them, and they also have good compression where needed, showing off your body and your style and allowing you to perform to your best.
March 24, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Alé Ladies Switch DWR Combi Jacket

New Year, new style and more fun!

The Ale´ Women’s winter jacket Switch DWR Combi looks lovely, like most of Ale’s wonderful collections, always full of bright and vivid colors, with unique designs. The one I have on test is a shade of light blue or celeste color, one of my favorites of course!
March 3, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Selle Italia SLR Boost Lady Superflow

Saddles are important, especially to me. I don’t like it when I have to use a strange bike and the saddle is uncomfortable. I want to be comfortable on my bike, so that I can give my best performance. That means not worrying about being on a bad saddle.
February 22, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Elite Nero Rollers Introduction

Larisa is currently testing the Elite Nero interactive rollers and by all accounts they're awesome. Read her first thoughts on riding these high end technology packed rollers from this leading Italian brand.
January 24, 2021/by Pedalnorth Website

Red Chilli Bikes

For some time, the team here at Pedalnorth have been looking for key brands to work in partnership with to promote cycling. Our editorial team has a wealth of talented writers and athletes, many of who still compete across Europe, the USA and elsewhere. It is important for us that the brands we work closely with share our ethos of excellence and independence in cycling and in life.
September 25, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Voom Hydration Powder

The Voom electrolyte mix aims to match what we sweat out, to replace those lost salts and to prevent cramp. A hypotonic drink with a small amount of glucose as ‘co-transport’ means faster hydration is possible when consuming both electrolytes and glucose rather than water and electrolytes or water alone. Simply drinking plain water won’t do what you need. Yes, it replaces fluid, but not the vital electrolytes.
July 28, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Feedback Omnium Trainer Review

Stuck for trainer options due to space? This well engineered trainer from Feedback combines the best aspects of rollers & fixed trainer
May 24, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Ale Winter Cycling Gloves

Here’s the deal people: “It’s not over until it’s over!” Yes, the cold winds of winter will stay for a while yet, especially in the high passes and hill areas. Thankfully Alé make great cold weather gloves
March 12, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Ale Klimatik Winter Overshoes

Cycle overshoes are simple really: they need to be waterproof, strong and stretchy, with excellent fastenings that don’t come apart
March 12, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Alé Klimatik Winter Bib tights

Good quality cycling gear is important to me, both for performance and for style. Transylvania requires hard cycling, especially in winter and I like to challenge myself. I also like my bib tights to fit well and yes, to show off my athleticism
March 12, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ Ladies Thermo Cycling Vest

This ALÉ ladies cycling vest or gilet sits alongside other jerseys from their range, but is just at home on a warmer day in early spring, with the long sleeved seamless baselayer as its partner.
March 12, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

Alé Future Nordik Ladies Jacket

The Alé Future Nordik Lady jacket is a superb winter garment, and extremely useful for other cold days in the hills.
March 12, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ Ladies Seamless Wool Baselayer

Base layers have become more popular. It’s not simply about keeping you warm, as the latest garments also manage moisture and have lots of other technical features.
February 9, 2020/by Pedalnorth Website
Larisa Chinces Studley Royal

Lake Shoes CX176

We ladies want to look good no matter the circumstances and that means that when we are at work, at school, at a date, or even doing sport or other kind of activities we want to look pretty and feel good - and we love shoes 😉
December 8, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website
Larisa Chinces cyclist

Cycology Long Sleeve Jersey

Style and apparel is important to us because if we look good, we feel good. I choose to believe that some of us who are passionate about style and fashion, are a little artist ourselves which use their body as a canvas
December 4, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website
Pirelli

Pirelli Scorpion mtb Tyre

I tested 2 sets of tyres from the Pirelli Scorpion™ MTB range which were born from Pirelli's experience and know how in the world of off-road competitions.
December 3, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

ALÉ Sunset Kit for summer

ALÉ Cycling is famous for its high quality Italian material and a variety of colours and prints. This spring I had the chance to review the new summer 2019 Sunset cycling kit from ALÉ
May 26, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

Kask Mojito Cycling Helmet

When a cycling helmet becomes a popular choice within our own writing team, it has to be good. The Kask Mojito is that helmet of choice for many of our riders, giving that necessary performance and style that cyclists across all genres require.
March 12, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

Refined Roadwear Ladies Pro Cycling Bibs

We all need good shorts when cycling’ it’s vital if you don’t want to be rubbing cream in for weeks on end. Yes, good shorts are as vital to cyclists as fish is to a cat! Thankfully, these shorts from Refined Roadwear are the cat’s whiskers – and that’s good!
March 6, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

G4 Ladies Hipster Bib Shorts

Testing kit here in the mountains near Sibiu in Romania, means that the kit has to be good, and so when the G4 Hipster ladies kit, I was ready to ride.
March 6, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

JL Velo Ladies Tribal Bibs

Let’s start as we mean to go on shall we — the JLVelo kits is absolutely wonderful! Due to its colours and design, the kit definitely stands out. In simple terms, it makes me feel pretty and special - and that’s important to us ladies.
March 6, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

G4 Intemporel Range for Ladies

I chose the Intemporel kit from G4 dimension for the summer because it’s my favourite. Its simple, elegant and has a great design and choice of colours, and it’s fitted and comfortable.
March 5, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

JL Velo Ladies Tribal Kit

JLVelo kits is absolutely wonderful! Due to its colours and design, the kit definitely stands out. In simple terms, it makes me feel pretty and special - and that’s important to us ladies.
March 4, 2019/by Pedalnorth Website

Related Content

Translate »